Plein Air Outing

Spent a delightful, albeit humid morning painting with an artist friend at Del Rey Lagoon in Playa Del Rey, California. We’ve had a bit of a monsoon flow drifting up from Mexico the past week and this morning it was on full display: magnificent clouds overhead and dark gray horizons.

We set up along the bluff overlooking the lagoon and got to work. I was using an 11″ x 14″ sheet of Arches 140 lb. cold press paper and one of my watercolor boxes, along with a selection of squirrel mops and rounds. About 3 hours later, after way too much fussing, I had a serviceable painting. It did need some further refinement at home with some gouache though.

My challenge lately has been to paint larger, at least some of the time, and I must confess it’s a struggle for me; I find painting smaller pieces to be more manageable. But as they say, nothing comes without effort, so I plan to slog on.

DEL REY LAGOON 7-24-17

 

 

 

Leave a comment